Pregnancy Hormone Diet…for men.

3 Jun

by Travis Peterson

My wife recently told me about a conversation she had with a co-worker about the diet he was on.  It all sounded pretty standard, until she said the words “Pregnancy Hormone Diet”.

Wait….  What?  Yes “he”.

To say the least, my bologna detection alarm went off.  But as a good skeptic, I decided to do a bit of digging.  The diet itself  is known as the HCG Diet (human chorionic gonadotropin )  The first thing that came up in my Google search was “HCG Diet on Dr. OZ”.  Not off to a good start, I thought, but lets keep looking. After wading thought a few sites I came upon a good one.  http://www.hcgultradiet.com/protocol.htm  The claim is:

taking HCG and restricting yourself to a 500 calorie  a day diet will make you lose weight.

Well, yeah so will hitting yourself in the face with a shoe while only eating 500 calories.

Knowing that a doctor needs to prescribe HCG, I wondered what was actually in HCG Ultra.  Just a few clicks later I found my answer.  Nothing.  HCG Ultra is a Homeopathic preparation. Wow. So let me lay out their plan…

  1. Pay $150
  2. take nothing
  3. eat 500 calories per day
  4. lose weight

“But Travis” you’ll say, “A Doctor endorses it!”  Ahhh Yes. Dr. Devin McClean.  It’s weird,  Dr. Devin McClean is not a nutritionist. He’s a (wait for it…) Chiropractor.

After looking up the clinical trial data, and seeing that there was no change in weight loss from the HCG group to placebo group I have come to this conclusion: A homeopathic remedy backed up by a chiropractor and a testimonial page is no way to plan your diet. Not only is homeopathy in-efficacious, a 500 calorie a day diet is dangerous.  

3 Responses to “Pregnancy Hormone Diet…for men.”

  1. Erin June 3, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    I stopped being convinced when I read the words “pregnancy” and “diet” in the same description.
    What do pregnant women do? Gain weight. What’s the goal of a diet? To lose weight. Hmm….

  2. biodork June 8, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    Hahaha! Nice summary of the HCG diet, Travis. 500 calories…oy! At least if you hit yourself in the face with a shoe you might knock yourself out and not have to be hungry for a few minutes each day.

  3. peter August 16, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    I am not sure what this is all about … but what I am sure about is that my mother did this diet and lost 30 pounds the first month, due to the hormones she couldn’t even eat her 500 calories, she is not diabetic anymore and she stopped having to take her blood pressure medicine! I say that’s pretty good for a result !

Leave a Reply

