Volunteering at SkepchickCON

2 Jul
Melissa Lee (a.k.a. LilaMae)

by Melissa Lee (a.k.a. LilaMae)

So I was volunteering for the Skepchicks at SkepchickCON this Thursday and Friday (CONvergence 2011). Wow. What a time I had. I got to serve drinks to awesome people in super sweet costumes. I got to meet & chat with the Skepchicks: Rebecca, Bug Girl, Amanda, Elyse, Amy, Maria…plus Sadie Crabtree from the JREF & Ashley Paramore of the Secular Student Alliance. And I got a free SurlyRamic from Surly Amy herself! She gave me the necklace right off her neck as a thank you for volunteering. Sweat & all. W00t W00t!

I also got to talk to PZ Myers. Well by “talk” I mean I got to say “Hi PZ” and “Thank you, please enjoy.” Not sure if I blew him away with a lasting impression.

Everyone was so friendly and I had a great time both nights. There was only one “incident” to speak of. There was a drunk gentleman (I don’t know why we call douchebags “gentlemen”) who thought it would be a good idea to come behind the bar and show me how he would like to tip me. (he meant “tip” literally…physically. Har har, right?) No sooner did Mr.Grabbyhands lay paws on me then Bug Girl [& Matt Lowry] whisked his ass out of there. Nice job, Bug Girl [and Matt]! What was kinda funny to me was that rumors of the “incident” became wildly exaggerated and spread like wildfire. After the fifth Skepchick came up to me and asked me if I was ok I had to say, “Why does everyone keep asking me that?” I guess some had heard I was the victim of a savage boob-groping. Ha! I found it somewhat amusing but I was nonetheless grateful for everyone’s concern for my safety. It was incredibly sweet.

Oh and I was also in costume which was fun. Sorry I don’t have any pics but I know lots of pics were taken so if I spot some on the intertubes, I’ll update this post with some silver lame & labcoat action for ya’ll. 🙂

Also…Kammy, you’re the best. Thanks hun!

2 Responses to “Volunteering at SkepchickCON”

  1. theprocrastinatrix July 6, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    You were brilliant! Couldn’t have done it without you and all the Skepchicks said so. 🙂

  2. biodork July 7, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Yay! I had a blast volunteering with you and Jessie. We’re the most awesomest bartenders EVAR! When we grow up we should open a science and skepticism-themed saloon (‘cuz saloons are way cooler than bars).

Leave a Reply

