It’d be laughable if it weren’t so sad…

10 May

For the last three years I’ve worked in the insurance industry and I’ve learned a lot about how it works, at least as it relates to work comp. While I could go into the nonsense that insurance companies cover and what the states mandate they pay for, I opt instead to share an almost amusing trend I’ve noticed.

I process hundreds of bills a day and see a lot of doctors and “medical practitioners” and I’ve noticed that without exception, admittedly as far as I’ve noticed, the only people to put “Dr.” in their name when signing health care forms are chiropractors. Physicians, physical therapists, acupuncturists, even healing touch practitioners (yes, I’ve seen claims for healing touch be processed), not one of them sign the bill Dr. John (or Jane) Doe. I’m not sure if it’s pride or desperation that drives this. The only people to see these signatures are healthcare workers (and people at insurance companies) and I can’t help but feel that it might be born of a desire to be accepted and thought of as equals to MDs. Also possible, perhaps probable, I’ve put far too much thought into this. (In my defense, it’s a really mindless job, I’ve got to do something to keep my brain active.)

Side note: I also worked out how many Lego bricks would be needed to build a covered foot-bridge across the Mississippi: about a quarter million… Yeah, it’s that mindless.

Leave a Reply

